close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

placeholder image

Every Child Ready to Read

You can help your child succeed at reading long before they are ever ready to sound out words on their own. Building your child's early literacy skills will set them on the path to success! The skills are:

Print Awareness:
Noticing print everywhere
Phonological Awareness:
Knowing sounds
Narrative Skills:
Knowing how stories work
Letter Knowledge:
Naming letters and their sounds
Vocabulary:
Knowing lots of words
Background Knowledge:
Knowing about the world all around

How do you build these skills? Here are five fun, free, and easy ways:

Every Child Ready to Read Practices Logo: TalkingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: SingingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: ReadingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: WritingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: Playing

Click each to learn more! You can also read up on the Every Child Ready to Read initiative and why it works.

This Month's Featured Reads!

LCPL staff have selected these books because kids love them and they help build important pre-reading skills. Check them out today!

everybody says meow book cover Title:
Everybody Says Meow by Constance Lombardo

Skills:
• Vocabulary
• Print Awareness
• Background Knowledge

Practices:
• Talking
• Reading
• Playing

Extend the book with toy animals to practice sounds and memory recall!

watch this Book Cover Title:
Watch This! by Jane Godwin, Hilary Walker, Beci Orpin

Skills:
• Vocabulary
• Background Knowledge
• Letter Knowledge

Practices:
• Talking
• Reading
• Playing

Extend the Book with simple games and letter practice!

TumbleBook of the Day (by Indiana State Library and Tumblebooks)

Preschool Events
Tue, Jul 07, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jul 08, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Fri, Jul 10, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Sat, Jul 11, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jul 12, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Jul 14, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jul 15, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Fri, Jul 17, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Sat, Jul 18, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jul 19, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Jul 21, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jul 22, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Fri, Jul 24, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Sat, Jul 25, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jul 26, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Jul 28, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jul 29, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Fri, Jul 31, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - Bit.Ly/LCPLstorytime

Family Events
Wed, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
LCPL Zoom Room

Tue, Jul 14, 10:15am - 10:45am
LCPL Zoom Room
Registration opens Tuesday, July 7 2020 at 10:15am

Tue, Jul 14, 2:45pm - 3:15pm
LCPL Zoom Room
Registration opens Wednesday, July 8 2020 at 9:00pm

Thu, Jul 16, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
LCPL Zoom Room

Wed, Jul 22, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
LCPL Zoom Room
Registration opens Wednesday, July 22 2020 at 3:00pm

Mon, Jul 27, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
LCPL Zoom Room
Registration opens Monday, July 20 2020 at 3:00pm