Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Switchboard Soldiers by Jennifer Chiaverini

Registration now closed

Switchboard Soldiers by Jennifer Chiaverini

Between the Lines Book Discussion

2024-05-30 11:15:00 2024-05-30 12:30:00 America/Chicago Switchboard Soldiers by Jennifer Chiaverini The Between the Lines Book Club reads "Switchboard Soldiers" by Jennifer Chiaverini. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Thursday, May 30
11:15am - 12:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-05-30 11:15:00 2024-05-30 12:30:00 America/Chicago Switchboard Soldiers by Jennifer Chiaverini The Between the Lines Book Club reads "Switchboard Soldiers" by Jennifer Chiaverini. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Dyer-Schererville

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

The Between the Lines Book Club reads "Switchboard Soldiers" by Jennifer Chiaverini. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event.

June 1917. Arriving in France, General John Pershing found himself unable to communicate with troops in the field. Pershing needed operators who could swiftly and accurately connect multiple calls, speak fluent French and English, remain steady under fire, and be utterly discreet. Well-trained American telephone operators were women-- who were not permitted to enlist. But the U.S. Army Signal Corps promptly began recruiting them. Grace Banker of New Jersey, Marie Miossec, a Frenchwoman, and Valerie DeSmedt, a Pacific Telephone operator from Los Angeles, were sworn in to replace male soldiers. The switchboard soldiers worked as bombs fell around them-- and faced the threat of a deadly new disease: the Spanish Flu. Not all would survive.

AGE GROUP: | Adults (19-99) |

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Dyer-Schererville

Phone: 219-322-4731

Branch manager
Beth

Hours
Mon, Jun 10 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Jun 11 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Jun 12 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Jun 13 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Jun 14 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jun 15 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 16 Closed

About the branch

The Dyer-Schererville Branch is located in Schererville on the south side of US 30 (Lincoln Highway), just west of US 41 (Indianapolis Boulevard) at Fountain Park Drive. The branch features a warm and inviting atmosphere with wood furnishings, subtle colors, brick accents, and friendly staff. Along with a large collection of books, audio, and DVDs for all ages, eighteen internet stations and free WiFi are provided. Educational and entertaining events occur monthly. Visit Check Out to apply for a library card and stop by Information for help with locating materials, using a computer, or finding a good book to read.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Sat, Jun 15, 1:00pm - 2:30pm

Tue, Jun 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Jun 19, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Jun 20, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Sat, Jun 22, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Jun 24, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Jun 25, 10:30am - 10:50am
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 11:30am
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Jun 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Dyer-Schererville Zoom Room

Wed, Jun 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Jun 27, 11:15am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Jun 27, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Sat, Jul 06, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Jul 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Jul 08, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Jul 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Jul 09, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Wed, Jul 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Jul 11, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Jul 11, 5:30pm - 6:45pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Jul 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)