close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré

Register 18 Seats Remaining

The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré

Between the Lines Book Discussion

2022-08-25 11:15:00 2022-08-25 12:30:00 America/Chicago The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré The Between the Lines Book Club reads "The Girl with the Louding Voice" by Abi Daré. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Thursday, August 25
11:15am - 12:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-08-25 11:15:00 2022-08-25 12:30:00 America/Chicago The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré The Between the Lines Book Club reads "The Girl with the Louding Voice" by Abi Daré. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Dyer-Schererville

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

The Between the Lines Book Club reads "The Girl with the Louding Voice" by Abi Daré. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the Dyer-Schererville branch a month prior to the event.

Adunni is a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants: an education. This, her mother has told her, is the only way to get a "louding voice"-- the ability to speak for herself and decide her own future. But Adunni's father sells her to be the third wife of a local man who is eager for her to bear him a son and heir. When Adunni runs away to the city, hoping to make a better life, she finds that the only other option before her is servitude to a wealthy family. As a yielding daughter, a subservient wife, and a powerless slave, Adunni has told that she is nothing, but her misfortunes cannot mute her voice.

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Dyer-Schererville

Phone: 219-322-4731

Branch manager
Chris

Hours
Mon, Aug 08 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Aug 09 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Aug 10 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Aug 11 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Aug 12 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Aug 13 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Aug 14 Closed

About the branch

The Dyer-Schererville Branch is located in Schererville on the south side of US 30 (Lincoln Highway), just west of US 41 (Indianapolis Boulevard) at Fountain Park Drive. The branch features a warm and inviting atmosphere with wood furnishings, subtle colors, brick accents, and friendly staff. Along with a large collection of books, audio, and DVDs for all ages, eighteen internet stations and free WiFi are provided. Educational and entertaining events occur monthly. Visit Check Out to apply for a library card and stop by Information for help with locating materials, using a computer, or finding a good book to read.

Upcoming events

Sat, Aug 13, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Aug 17, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Aug 22, 12:30pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Aug 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Dyer-Schererville Zoom Room

Thu, Aug 25, 11:15am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Aug 29, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Sep 01, 5:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Sat, Sep 03, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Sep 08, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room A

Rescheduled
Sat, Sep 10, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
New date Saturday, September 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm