close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

History Film: 42 - The Jackie Robinson Story

2020-02-03 18:00:00 2020-02-03 20:10:00 America/Chicago History Film: 42 - The Jackie Robinson Story “42” tells the story of two men—the great Jackie Robinson and legendary Brooklyn Dodgers GM Branch Rickey. Starring Chadwick Boseman and Harrison Ford. Highland

Monday, February 03
6:00pm - 8:10pm

Add to Calendar 2020-02-03 18:00:00 2020-02-03 20:10:00 America/Chicago History Film: 42 - The Jackie Robinson Story “42” tells the story of two men—the great Jackie Robinson and legendary Brooklyn Dodgers GM Branch Rickey. Starring Chadwick Boseman and Harrison Ford. Highland

Highland

Meeting Room A

“42” tells the story of two men—the great Jackie Robinson and legendary Brooklyn Dodgers GM Branch Rickey. Starring Chadwick Boseman and Harrison Ford.

Hero is a word we hear often in sports, but heroism is not always about achievements on the field of play. “42” tells the story of two men—the great Jackie Robinson and legendary Brooklyn Dodgers GM Branch Rickey—whose brave stand against prejudice forever changed the world by changing the game of baseball. In 1946, Branch Rickey (Harrison Ford) put himself at the forefront of history when he signed Jackie Robinson (Chadwick Boseman) to the team, breaking Major League Baseball’s infamous color line. But the deal also put both Robinson and Rickey in the firing line of the public, the press and even other players. Facing unabashed racism from every side, Robinson was forced to demonstrate tremendous courage and restraint by not reacting in kind, knowing that any incident could destroy his and Rickey’s hopes. Instead, Number 42 let his talent on the field do the talking—ultimately winning over fans and his teammates, silencing his critics, and paving the way for others to follow.

TAGS: | Movies |

Highland

Phone: 219-838-2394

Branch manager
Linda

Hours
Mon, Feb 24 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Feb 25 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Feb 26 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Feb 27 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Feb 28 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 29 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 01 Closed

About the branch

The Highland Branch Library has long played an important role in downtown Highland. From its beginnings in rented storefronts to the Highland Memorial Library built in 1946 to its present location on Jewett and 4th Street, it has been an integral part of the community. The exterior of the library looks nearly as it did when it was first built in 1966. Although it is one of the oldest buildings in the library system, it's newly remodeled interior makes it one of the newest. The library still houses over 65,000 items, but now also features a large meeting room and children's program room, a study room, and WiFi, along with many public Internet computers. These features, along with the library's bright and inviting atmosphere and convenient location, make the Highland Branch Library a destination for the community and surrounding areas.

Upcoming events

Sat, Feb 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 02, 2:00pm - 3:50pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 02, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 03, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 03, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room
This event is full

Wed, Mar 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Mar 05, 11:00am - 2:00pm
Quiet Study Room

Sat, Mar 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Mar 07, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 09, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 09, 2:00pm - 4:15pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 09, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 10, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 11, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 11, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Mar 12, 11:00am - 2:00pm
Quiet Study Room

Thu, Mar 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Thu, Mar 12, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Mar 14, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A
This event is full

Sat, Mar 14, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Programming Room
This event is full

Mon, Mar 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 16, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 17, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Mar 19, 11:00am - 2:00pm
Quiet Study Room

Thu, Mar 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Mar 21, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Mar 23, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 23, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 24, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 25, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 25, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Mar 26, 11:00am - 2:00pm
Quiet Study Room

Thu, Mar 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Mar 28, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Mar 28, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A