close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Independent Film: I Am Not A Witch

2019-09-09 13:00:00 2019-09-09 15:00:00 America/Chicago Independent Film: I Am Not A Witch Independent Film Series. Adults only. Refreshments provided. English, Bemba, Nyanja, and Tonga with English subtitles. 93 minutes. Registration required. Dyer-Schererville

Monday, September 09
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-09-09 13:00:00 2019-09-09 15:00:00 America/Chicago Independent Film: I Am Not A Witch Independent Film Series. Adults only. Refreshments provided. English, Bemba, Nyanja, and Tonga with English subtitles. 93 minutes. Registration required. Dyer-Schererville

Dyer-Schererville

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Independent Film Series. Adults only. Refreshments provided. English, Bemba, Nyanja, and Tonga with English subtitles. 93 minutes. Registration required.

In her BAFTA award-winning debut feature, Rungano Nyoni crafts a satirical feminist fairy tale set in present-day Zambia.  When nine-year-old Shula is accused of witchcraft, she is exiled to a witch camp run by Mr. Banda, a corrupt and inept government official.  Tied to the ground by a white ribbon, Shula is told that she will turn into a goat if she tries to escape.  As the only child witch, Shula quickly becomes a local star and the adults around her exploit her supposed powers for financial gain.  Soon she is forced to make a difficult decision -whether to resign herself to life on the camp, or take a risk for freedom.  English, Bemba, Nyanja, and Tonga with English subtitles. 93 minutes. Registration required.

TAGS: | Movies |

Dyer-Schererville

Phone: 219-322-4731

Branch manager
Chris

Hours
Mon, Feb 24 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Feb 25 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Feb 26 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Feb 27 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Feb 28 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 29 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 01 Closed

About the branch

The Dyer-Schererville Branch is located in Schererville on the south side of US 30 (Lincoln Highway), just west of US 41 (Indianapolis Boulevard) at Fountain Park Drive. The branch features a warm and inviting atmosphere with wood furnishings, subtle colors, brick accents, and friendly staff. Along with a large collection of books, audio, and DVDs for all ages, eighteen internet stations and free WiFi are provided. Educational and entertaining events occur monthly. Visit Check Out to apply for a library card and stop by Information for help with locating materials, using a computer, or finding a good book to read.

Upcoming events

Mon, Mar 02, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Mar 03, 12:30pm - 2:30pm
Lobby table

Wed, Mar 04, 10:15am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 04, 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Mar 04, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room B

Thu, Mar 05, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Sat, Mar 07, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
This event is full

Sat, Mar 07, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
This event is full

Sat, Mar 07, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 09, 1:30pm - 2:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 09, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Tue, Mar 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Mar 10, 1:30pm - 2:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Mar 10, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Mar 11, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 11, 11:15am - 11:45am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Sat, Mar 14, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Mon, Mar 16, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 16, 1:30pm - 2:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Mar 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Mar 17, 1:30pm - 2:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 11:15am - 11:45am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Mar 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Sat, Mar 21, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Mar 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Mar 23, 12:30pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Mar 24, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Wed, Mar 25, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Thu, Mar 26, 10:15am - 11:30am
Meeting Room Whole (A & B)