Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Many Daughters of Afong Moy by Jamie Ford

Registration now closed

Many Daughters of Afong Moy by Jamie Ford

2024-05-15 18:30:00 2024-05-15 19:30:00 America/Chicago Many Daughters of Afong Moy by Jamie Ford Join us for a discussion of "The Many Daughters of Afong Moy" by Jamie Ford. Cedar Lake

Wednesday, May 15
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-05-15 18:30:00 2024-05-15 19:30:00 America/Chicago Many Daughters of Afong Moy by Jamie Ford Join us for a discussion of "The Many Daughters of Afong Moy" by Jamie Ford. Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake

Meeting Room A

Join us for a discussion of "The Many Daughters of Afong Moy" by Jamie Ford.

Through an experimental treatment designed to mitigate inherited trauma, Dorothy intimately connects with past generations of women in her family: Faye Moy, a nurse in China serving with the Flying Tigers; Zoe Moy, a student in England at a famous school with no rules; Lai King Moy, a girl quarantined in San Francisco during a plague epidemic; Greta Moy, a tech executive with a unique dating app; and Afong Moy, the first Chinese woman to set foot in America.

As painful recollections affect her present life, Dorothy discovers that trauma isn’t the only thing she’s inherited. A stranger is searching for her in each time period. A stranger who’s loved her through all of her genetic memories. Dorothy endeavors to break the cycle of pain and abandonment, to finally find peace for her daughter, and gain the love that has long been waiting, knowing she may pay the ultimate price.

AGE GROUP: | Adults (19-99) |

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Cedar Lake

Phone: 219-374-7121

Branch manager
Jon

Hours
Mon, May 13 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Tue, May 14 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, May 15 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Thu, May 16 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, May 17 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, May 18 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 19 Closed

About the branch

The Cedar Lake Branch of Lake County Public Library is known for its spacious, beautiful building, which opened to the public in May of 2006. At 20,000 square feet, this new building is the third largest branch in the library system and is located just to the east of the high school from the Hanover School Corporation on West 133rd Ave. We have three private small group rooms and a public meeting room that can accommodate up to 100 people. Every month we hold many preschool, toddler, infant, family and adult classes and events. From computer classes, to arts and crafts, to game night, we've got something for everyone, no matter your age!

Upcoming events

Mon, May 20, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, May 21, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, May 22, 4:30pm - 6:30pm
Public Tables

Tue, May 28, 4:00pm - 5:15pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, May 29, 4:30pm - 6:30pm
Public Tables

Mon, Jun 03, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Jun 04, 11:30am - 12:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Jun 05, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jun 05, 4:30pm - 6:30pm
Cedar Lake - Public Tables

Thu, Jun 06, 11:30am - 12:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Jun 10, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jun 10, 5:30pm - 6:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Jun 11, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Jun 12, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Main Area

Wed, Jun 12, 4:30pm - 6:30pm
Cedar Lake - Public Tables

Thu, Jun 13, 11:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jun 17, 1:30pm - 3:45pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jun 17, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Jun 18, 11:30am - 12:15pm
Children's Programming Room

Tue, Jun 18, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A