close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Register 50 Seats Remaining

Stonewall Uprising

2019-06-28 15:00:00 2019-06-28 16:30:00 America/Chicago Stonewall Uprising On the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots we will be watching the PBS documentary exploring the dramatic events that launched a worldwide LGBTQ rights movement. Cedar Lake

Friday, June 28
3:00pm - 4:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-28 15:00:00 2019-06-28 16:30:00 America/Chicago Stonewall Uprising On the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots we will be watching the PBS documentary exploring the dramatic events that launched a worldwide LGBTQ rights movement. Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake

Meeting Room A

On the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots we will be watching the PBS documentary exploring the dramatic events that launched a worldwide LGBTQ rights movement.

The film is not rated and 90 minutes long. Refreshments will be served.

Explores the dramatic event that launched a worldwide rights movement. When police raided a Mafia-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, the Stonewall Inn on June 28, 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and street demonstrations, the collective anger announced that the gay rights movement had arrived.

TAGS: | Movies |

Cedar Lake

Phone: 219-374-7121

Branch manager
Jon

Hours
Mon, Jun 24 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Tue, Jun 25 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Jun 26 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Thu, Jun 27 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Jun 28 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 29 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 30 Closed

About the branch

The Cedar Lake Branch of Lake County Public Library is known for its spacious, beautiful building, which opened to the public in May of 2006. At 20,000 square feet, this new building is the third largest branch in the library system and is located just to the east of the high school from the Hanover School Corporation on West 133rd Ave. We have three private study rooms and a public meeting room that can accommodate up to 100 people. Every month we hold many preschool, toddler, infant, family and adult classes and events. From computer classes, to arts and crafts, to game night, we've got something for everyone, no matter your age!

Upcoming events

Mon, Jun 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jun 24, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Public Tables

Tue, Jun 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jun 26, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Fri, Jun 28, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jul 01, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Jul 01, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Public Tables

Wed, Jul 03, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room A

Fri, Jul 05, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Fri, Jul 05, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Sat, Jul 06, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jul 08, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Mon, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jul 08, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Public Tables

Tue, Jul 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Jul 11, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Jul 15, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Jul 15, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Public Tables

Tue, Jul 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Jul 16, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jul 17, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jul 17, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Jul 18, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Fri, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Fri, Jul 19, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Sat, Jul 20, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jul 22, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Courtyard

Mon, Jul 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Jul 22, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Public Tables

Tue, Jul 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jul 24, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Jul 24, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A