close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Canceled: Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly Volunteer

2019-04-05 13:00:00 2019-04-05 15:00:00 America/Chicago Canceled: Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly Volunteer Little Brothers – Friends of the Elderly has been serving socially isolated elders since just after WWII. Learn more about this great organization, along with volunteer opportunities. Highland

Friday, April 05
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-04-05 13:00:00 2019-04-05 15:00:00 America/Chicago Canceled: Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly Volunteer Little Brothers – Friends of the Elderly has been serving socially isolated elders since just after WWII. Learn more about this great organization, along with volunteer opportunities. Highland

Highland

Meeting Room A

Little Brothers – Friends of the Elderly has been serving socially isolated elders since just after WWII. Learn more about this great organization, along with volunteer opportunities.

Little Brothers-Friends of the Elderly strives to meet the emotional and physical needs of our elderly friends. For some, isolation comes with growing older. Children move away to follow their work, spouses and friends die, a car wears out and is not replaced, or a driver’s license is surrendered or revoked because of illness. This isolation is compounded by poverty. In these difficult situations we extend a helping hand. We treat our elderly friends as individuals, offering them the gifts of respect and love by visiting, socializing, and providing programs that combat loneliness and promote independent living, helping them remain in their own homes.

As a volunteer-based organization, we rely on people of good will to join us in our efforts. All of our services are free to the elderly and are designed to relieve the isolation and loneliness that can produce emotional pain and mental and physical deterioration.

Learn more at http://littlebrothers.org/

TAGS: | Special Events | General |

Highland

Phone: 219-838-2394

Branch manager
Linda

Hours
Mon, Aug 12 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Aug 13 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Aug 14 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Aug 15 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Aug 16 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 17 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Aug 18 Closed

About the branch

The Highland Branch Library has long played an important role in downtown Highland. From its beginnings in rented storefronts to the Highland Memorial Library built in 1946 to its present location on Jewett and 4th Street, it has been an integral part of the community. The exterior of the library looks nearly as it did when it was first built in 1966. Although it is one of the oldest buildings in the library system, it's newly remodeled interior makes it one of the newest. The library still houses over 65,000 items, but now also features a large meeting room and children's program room, a study room, and WiFi, along with many public Internet computers. These features, along with the library's bright and inviting atmosphere and convenient location, make the Highland Branch Library a destination for the community and surrounding areas.

Upcoming events

Mon, Aug 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Aug 19, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Aug 20, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Aug 21, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Aug 21, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Aug 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Aug 24, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Aug 26, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Aug 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Aug 26, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Aug 27, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Aug 28, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Aug 28, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Aug 31, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A
This event is full

Tue, Sep 03, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Sep 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Sep 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Sat, Sep 07, 1:45pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Sep 09, 10:30am - 11:15am
Children's Programming Room

Mon, Sep 09, 2:00pm - 4:06pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Sep 09, 6:00pm - 8:06pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Sep 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Sep 10, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Sep 11, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Sep 11, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room A

Wed, Sep 11, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Children's Programming Room

Wed, Sep 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Thu, Sep 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room

Sat, Sep 14, 9:30am - 11:30am
Meeting Room A

Mon, Sep 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Sep 16, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room A

Tue, Sep 17, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Children's Programming Room