The Seven Library Districts in Lake County, Indiana

Lake County is composed of seven independent public library districts:

Crown Point Community Library

East Chicago Public Library

Gary Public Library

Hammond Public Library

Lake County Public Library (That's us!)

Lowell Public Library

Whiting Public Library

(Click the map to enlarge)

You are in the Lake County Public Library district if you live in one of the following school districts:

• Griffith
• Hanover
• Highland
• Hobart
• Lake Central
• Lake Station
• Merrillville
• Munster
• River Forest

Map of the 7 different library districts in Lake County, Indiana

More Information

Each library district is a separate governmental unit, with its own Board of Trustees, administration, staff, collection, and services, designed to meet the needs of the community that it serves.

While all of the libraries have similarities, each district also offers a unique mix of materials, services, and programs. Cooperative agreements exist among most Lake County library districts, allowing residents to utilize an even wider variety of resources (ie, residents of the Hammond Public Library district may obtain a card that can be used at Lake County Public Library).

Library districts are arranged above in alphabetical order.