The Griffith Branch of the Gary Public Library, circa 1915. It shared space with the Post Office. Mrs. Clara Beesin was the attendant.

Celebrating the History of
Indiana and LCPL

Lake County Public Library is Indiana’s third largest library, established in 1952, with 9 locations serving 13 communities of Northwest Indiana. As we celebrate Indiana's Bicentennial, we'll be taking a look back at how we came to be the modern library you know today - and how the communities we serve have developed as well!

Did you know that the library never used a card catalog? Or what the large statue on the upper floor of the Merrillville Branch is called? Or which two sites in Hobart are NRHP sites? Find all this and more by exploring the categories below!

All About the Communities of LCPL

Branch Histories
Community Histories
Genealogy Tools
Library Directors
Library Timeline
The Reader
Historic Yearbooks